A redesign of the AppleTV interface, made by me

I recreated the TV Guide/On Now interface using a design language and navigation pattern that more closely matches the modern Apple TV apps.

I hope you all like it and get inspired to improve the product in the coming updates. The GetChannels team has my written permission to copy as much as they wish from my work β€” I encourage it!

There are more screenshots that I've posted on twitter, including a light-mode version.

Update: I've now added all screenshots below.

And here's Light Mode

24 Likes

Love this, best part about it is the time remaining status. Should also make selecting favorites easier since the channel logos are much easier to identify.

2 Likes

Neat. I think the original design is a bit dated. Is it possible to share it or would it require recompiling each time an update is pushed through.

PS. the more of that movie thats remaining the better :wink:

2 Likes

how can we get it?

2 Likes

I am a UI/UX designer. This looks great. Great job!

4 Likes

I like the addition of the clock. :slightly_smiling_face:

9 Likes

The one screen shot I can see looks intriguing. (Can't see the rest. I've Twitter blocked, here.)

With all due respect to the devs: I do know neither my wife nor I much care for the current UI.

1 Like

This looks great with the current design tvOS design language. I love how you laid out the tags in the guide and the "Now Playing" info in the sidebar. Big logos and a darker purple background that doesn't clash are also great touches.

If/when Channels gets a UI refresh, something similar to this view could work as a quick guide since it's very legible and info-dense but probably wouldn't function as well with hundreds of channels. I think one of Channels' strengths is the instant familiarity from folks who are used to cable box interfaces but the guide cells could definitely include tags and more info in them besides the title, at the very least.

2 Likes