API issue: won't play on first launch

Hi All,

First of all, I’m new to the app and found my way here via Maddox from Home Assistant Forum.

I’ve been testing the beta on a Shield and I’ve noticed using when using the API to:

1. launch the app from background (specifically the home screen of the Shield)
  2. change the channel

The app launches and tunes to the correct channel but black screen is displayed with the play/status bar at the bottom, after around 20seconds a message is displayed “HDHomeRun Not Available”.

Using the following command:
curl -X POST http://192.168.1.32:57000/api/play/channel/101

If I use the command after launching the app, everything works perfectly. I haven’t tested this in the non-beta version yet.

Hmm, the api would only work if the app was running in the first place. Can you elaborate on the exact steps to reproduce the issue?

Also what version of Android is on your shield?

@tmm1

Shield Android TV SW Version: 6.3(24.32.406472)
Kernel version: 3.10.96+
Android security patch level: 5 Jan 2018
Version: 7 (not sure what this is referring to but it’s in the About of the device)

I have recorded a video that will hopefully explain it a bit better: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1FIm-TMG4aHYTJe1ubTGEsbON-sL9Y61a/view?usp=drivesdk

Let me know if you need me to test anything else. More than happy to help :slight_smile:

Thanks, that’s helpful.

So at the end of the video when you got it working after launching the app… if right afterwards you leave the app and go to the home screen again, does the API stop working again?

Can you check if it makes a difference whether you leave the app by clicking the Back button vs the Home button.

Also under the SHIELD’s Settings > Apps > Channels what is the version number shown?

That correct. Works perfectly when I launch the app. From Home or any other app it launches the correct channel but does not play.