Can I add my own IPTV subscription?

Hi, I have my own subscription of IPTV channels. Can I add them to Channels DVR server or I have to buy Channels Live TV subscription?

Channels does not support illegal/pirate IPTV streams. (the random ones you find online that offer thousands of channels, "premium" channels, cable networks, and channels from many countries, all for super cheap)

Also, what you mean "buy Channels Live TV subscription"?

You have to buy the subscription in order to have DVR Server use.

There is a separate paid Channels app for users of HDHR OTA tuners that do not want to subscription for DVR use.

Perhaps you do not understand what Channels DVR is? It provides no streaming channels and is not a streaming service. You use it with a OTA or Cable Card tuner, or with cable tv/TVE subscription like Philo, YTTV, etc. to watch live or record from those sources that you provide. There is the client apps for Apple TV or Google tv etc, and the server application you install on your own PC hardware to use as the local DVR server.

Channels is not a streaming provider. It's software that works with your TV sources. You add your sources, and Channels gives you a friendly way to watch and record them, along with many many other features.

You can see what kind of sources you can add here:

While you can get your IPTV channels to work via the Custom Channels feature, we do not provide technical support for anything you add via Custom Channels.

1 Like
  1. As @speedingcheetah mentioned. CDVR does not support the use of illegal iptv streams. Go to reddit or troypoint if you want to discuss those
  2. CDVR does suppory m3u & xml. However it will not process a m3u over 500 stations. As a result you will not be able to use in CDVR unless you modify m3u file

Instead

1. Online cable ex: philo, yttv, hulu live, sling
  2. HDHR (ota / cable card)
  3. Legal unofficial sources ex: pluto and other free sources