Channels DVR server could not be discovered

getting "channels DVR server could not be discovered. visit url below to learn how to download and set it up."

I have channels dvr set up on my windows 7 pc and watch via my nvidia shield.

Are u trying to acces it while at home or away from home?

If at home, is the PC the server is on set to have a Static IP address, or a DCHP Reservation address in your router? If the IP of the server changes, the app might not see the server.

Have you tried the connect manually and entering in the ip adress of the server?

I am trying to access while at home. I can log in via the pc and everything seems to work. But we use the app on Nvidia shield to watch on our television. We were watching a program and tried to delete it but it wouldn't delete. so I logged into channels dvr on the pc to delete the shows. When I went back to watch tv on the app on nvidia shield thats when the error messages began.

I am a bit of a newbie so not so sure how to try and manually connect and enter in the ip address of the server. Can you provide a step by step?

Sorry I can't help your issue, but I do notice that when you delete a show on the Nvidia Shield, it doesn't show as deleted until you back out of the "On Now" or "Newly Recorded" menu. Once you back out, then it removes the program from the view. Not sure if this is by design, but it can be confusing.

It’s possible the PC changed IPs if you don’t have it set up with a static IP address. That can sometimes cause issues. Would be worth setting a static IP for it if you have not already to see if it solves the problem.

thanks Macnbaish for the tip. I set a static IP address for the pc and it worked. Not sure how it changed but all is working correctly now.
Thanks.

1 Like