Connecting HDHome Run directly to iMac

I have Channels Server set up on a 2012 iMac which I then connect to my home network wirelessly. I can watch Channels recorded video from the iMac on my Apple TV without any issues. I am wondering if it is possible to then directly hook HDHome Run directly into my iMac so that I can get live channels and record them? I hooked the HDHR directly in my iMac's ethernet port but no go. I am thinking maybe I need to change something on the iMac's settings? Or, is this just not possible, i.e. HDHR is expecting a direct connection to the router? Thanks!

On the Mac, set your Ethernet port to a static IP in the 169.254/16 range, and you should be able to directly access the tuners that way. (Back when the Prime had Ethernet issues, I used to run them off a switch on a second Ethernet port set up just this way.)

Sorry I’m not that technical when it comes to networking, could you give me the full IP example? Thanks.

Basically anything from 169.254.0.1–169.254.255.254.

I think things will work the way you want if you enable the WiFi network to be "shared" by the Mac Mini. Just go into Settings/Network on the Mac and look for the "Share" option on the WiFi tab. I think this will cause stuff hanging off the Ethernet port of the Mac to "see" the WiFi network. (P.S. You shouldn't need to do the hard-coded IP address thing suggested above)

Found the following article on Apple. Although their example is opposite yours (sharing the Ethernet network to other computers connected over WiFi).

@racameron, Thanks for the suggestion, I tried it but no dice. When I go to watch a live program, I see "Starting" and then "Reconnecting" (continuous loop). Here is what I updated...

Not sure what settings need to be adjusted on the Mac. I used Linux, so network configuration was a little bit different, and easier to manually configure.

Oh, okay. Thanks anyway.