Could not connect to [hostname].channelsdvr.net

What does this mean and how do I fix it?

"Could not connect to [hostname].channelsdvr.net. Check if the port is mapped."

What kind of device are you running the DVR server on? There is a known issue affecting older Macs. If that could be the issue see the thread on that topic.

I installed the Channels Plus .exe on a Windows 10 machine. I am unsure where the Server is or if it is even on this machine. Anyway, when I open the Channels DVR App on that machine it opens a Browser page (MS Edge) and I get the subject message when I click on “Help” and it goes through an automatic “Troubleshooting” routine.

TBH, I am having a difficult time understanding exactly how Channels DVR is supposed to work. (FWIW, I have been using SageTV for over ten years (15?) and also use several other streaming programs regularly, if not daily – TABLO, EMBY, ATT TV NOW (Osprey device), Air TV. Fire Cube, etc. and also with ROKU Ultra and Shield devises so this should be a piece of cake for me. But somewhere I fell off the tracks and can’t seem to get back on.)

Have you tried using the DVR in your home yet? The connect error you posted only applies to remote access.

On your FireTV search for Channels DVR and install the app. It should connect to your DVR server on your Window PC automatically. If not, then there's probably a firewall blocking access on your PC.

Yes, I have recorded a little (as a test several months ago) with the DVR. Both Shield and Cube show connected to LAN 192.168.1.107, the address of the Windows 10 machine.

Actually, what led me down this path was in trying to figure out how to configure TVAnywhere and got sidetracked. (Still am lost with TVA)

What are you trying to configure?

It looks like you're already using some TVE providers? On the Settings tab there's a list of sources along with an "Add Source" button.