Disappointed business practice

I just found out about the iOS version of the Channels app, which I’ve been using the tvOS version on my AppleTV for a few months now. I’ve also been trying out a competing app called InstaTV Pro, on both iOS and tvOS which I only paid “once” for the Dolby license. I went to the Apple App Store on my iPad just a few moments ago to find the app and that if I wanted that, I would have to pay yet another $15. This is a no sell for me, InstaTV Pro is looking more I will probably be using instead in the future. Most other apps offered through the Apple App Store covers fees (etc.) for the two different os’s, which I am disappointed you decided to go the opposite route here.

Also consider that I’ve already purchased InstaTV Pro for my iOS (and tvOS) devices, I have no use for the Channels app on the former. Add to that, they have HDHomeRun DVR support in their latest release, with the DVR component available by Silicondust, I see no need or desire for a Channels App DVR at this time, nor in the foreseeable future.

2 Likes

Most cable box rentals are >$10 a month. $15 is a drop in the bucket.

1 Like

My issue with cable boxes or satellite receivers wasn’t just the monthly fee but that I needed one box per television. I had 4 Directv receivers and would have had more if there wasn’t a monthly charge per receiver. With Channels App I have paid once for ATV and iOS version and have it installed on 3 4th Gen AppleTVs, 5 iOS devices and can airplay to 4 3rd Gen AppleTVs.

So monthly charge for my Directv receivers covered purchase price of Channels for both platforms.

1 Like