Does this work in the U.K.?

Need a decent U.K. guide/dvr with a fire tv app to combine with my U.K. silicon dust had homerun

Yes HDHomeRun + aerial is supported in the UK for FreeView

Thank you

I've been using this in the UK for about a year now, with 3 x Fire TV Cubes and a Stick, previous Sky deserter when the pricing just got $LOL, then sick of the headache of OSMC with a TVHeadend backend... minimal moans and complaints from the 'boss' this last year.

Thanks for this endorsement. What do you use for the source Freeview signal?

I don't - I use Freesat, with a Sat>IP box... via TVHeadend. :slight_smile:

Is that complicated to setup?

TVHeadEnd can be a little awkward and take some getting used to, however I've been running it for the last 4-5 years - what it does, it does very well.

The frontend clients for TVHeadend are absolutely awful, however, so by using Channels gives me the best of both worlds.

This is a naive question, what does TV Headend do and how does it do it e.g. on a PC?

It's basically the backend only...

Tvheadend is a TV streaming server and recorder for Linux, FreeBSD and Android supporting DVB-S, DVB-S2, DVB-C, DVB-T, DVB-T2, ATSC, ISDB-T, IPTV, SAT>IP and HDHomeRun as input sources.

https://tvheadend.org

You have to pair it with something else for the frontend, typically Kodi or OSMC although it can be done with Channels but you have to jump through some hoops.

If you're looking for something user friendly, easy to setup and manage... Channels with a fully supported device such as the HDHomeRun is what you're looking for :slight_smile:

1 Like

Totally agree (with your last sentence) :slight_smile:

Iā€™m loving Channels on my iOS devices. Got it on FireTV now (a wee bit expensive tho).

Is there any chance that the guide could have a filter for the +1hr channels on Freeview?

Kenny