DVRDrive

I have a question regarding the DVR aspect of Channels. I do not want to use my Mac to record my shows as I do not want to keep it running 24/7 as I live in a hot tropical climate.

Is it possible to just use an external hard drive to record my shows, and if do, where would I connect it in order for Channels to detect it? Would I hook it up to my Apple TV, regular TV, or to my router?

Can I use any external hard drive that can buy on the market?

You're going to need some computing device to run the Channels DVR. A hard drive alone won't be enough. Some options are a Mac, PC, Rasberry PI, Nvidia Shield, or Synology. The DVR is different than the Channels client app used on devices to watch your content that comes from the Channels DVR.

(The above answer doesn't address the version of the client app that I think talks directly to an HDHomerun tuner. I have no experience with that, but I don't think that can save directly to a hard drive, either. Someone can correct me if I'm wrong).

2 Likes

The closest to that description would be a “NAS” (Network Attached Storage) device. It would connect to your router.

Here are all the devices that can run Channels DVR:

Okay, I’m still a little confused. If I plug an external drive to my router, will that suffice in order for it to be a network drive? If so, how will the “Channels” app recognize it? Someone else in this feed stated that an external drive alone will not work and that some kind of computer is needed. What software do I need to make the“Channels” app “see/recognize “ my drive? Thanks for your help. Tom

Channels DVR Server is a completely separate piece of software. It powers the Channels app.

Channels can't possibly do the things it does directly on streaming boxes due to the limitations of these devices and how the apps run. Channels DVR Server runs on your computer or NAS device to do all the heavy lifting. The Channels app just connects to it and lets you experience everything.