Fios or Xfinity? And DRM

I've tried searching this forum, Reddit, Silicondust's website and everywhere else and I can't find some clear answers. I'm a noob to Channels so let me tell you want I have and what questions I have.

I have ordered Xfinity and Fios and I need to decide between the two.

I have ordered a cable card from both (Fios said I needed a "digital adapter" to watch premium channels).

1. Can I watch DRM channels on Xfinity? Can I watch then on Fios?
  2. Can I record DRM channels on Xfinity? On Fios?
  3. Is your service reliable? Anything else I should know about Xfinity vs. Fios?

Setup:
Synology NAS
HDHomeRun Prime
AppleTV (with Channels installed)

Channels does not support DRM at all.

Xfinity has the fewest drm channels. Only HBO and showtime

Verizon FIOS also has very few drm. But it includes Fox News and Fox Sports along with HBO and Showtime

Are you using Verizon FIOS or frontier?

1 Like

Thanks for the SUPER quick response.

I'm using Verizon Fios.

If you don't care about Fox News it will work great. Xfinity also works great, and maybe simpler without tuning adapter

Thanks- I really appreciate the advice and clarity!

FWIW I have Verizon FiOS and don't need a tuning adapter for premiums. Just the straight up Cable CARD works for me. FiOS also supplies FAR more channels in HD than Xfinity does - namely, EVERY premium channel and all their sub channels.

1 Like

Thanks for this. Really helpful. I was leaning toward Verizon Fios because the internet speed is SO much faster and the cost of TV service was cheaper than Xfinity. Good to hear that you can actually watch the DRM channels.

But I assume you can't record any of those DRM/premium channels to your DVR?

I'm using FIOS in Greater Boston. I also had Comcast (Not the Xfinity X1 system) and RCN.