Help! Extreme buffering when DVR is turned on

Hi,

I’m new to the Channels app and DVR. I purchased Channels app for Fire TV yesterday. When I started watching live TV (HD Homerun Prime tuner), it seemed to work fine, with only a few seconds buffering at the beginning. Then I subscribed to Channels DVR service. I installed it on my WD MyCloud EX2 Ultra NAS. After the DVR was turned on, everything went south. On my fire TV, when I play any channel, it buffers for 8-10 seconds (small rotating circle) then the video plays for 3-4 seconds then it buffers again for 8-10 seconds and so on. Totally unwatchable. Same thing happens when I watch TV on computer through the Channels DVR settings area. I’m having same issues when I play recorded videos on the DVR too.

Any clue why this may be happening? Any settings that I need to change in my NAS? Or is my NAS not powerful enough? Or something else? My internet is Verizon Fios Gigabit speed.

Is there a suggested minimum configuration to run Channels DVR without buffering?

Thanks.
Pushkar

What kind of network connection on the HDHR Prime tuner and WD NAS?

Your Internet connection speed has no bearing.

Thanks Jim.

I’ve wired connections on both HDHR and WD NAS. Is that what you meant to ask? Or are you asking about the speed? If so, how would I check the speed?

Thanks.
Pushkar

It sounds like you’re using remote login mode. Go to the DVR tab and click logout. Then try unchecking and rechecking the Bonjour checkbox on your DVR web UI. The app should discover your DVR automatically without doing a remote login.

1 Like

You’re welcome. Yeah, that’s what I was wondering. Are you using the FiOS modem’s built-in network switch for the HDHR and NAS wired connections?

The point I’m getting to is something is throttling performance. If it’s not the MyCloud EX2, which, IIRC, has enough power, then I’m suspicious of your network.