iPad no longer shows close captions

Sorry to keep complaining but it seems that every significant new release of Channels comes with new bugs :frowning:
The issue now is that the newest release, while it provide PiP (definitely useful!) has taken away closed caption support. Yes, I can go to the (...) menu and choose (or unchoose then rechoose) Closed Captions/On, but I don't see the closed captions.

To prevent the misunderstandings of last time, this is a bug report for iPads. Not iPhone, not Apple TV, iPad.
(And when you're ready to release a fix, check that CC still displays correctly in PiP mode. The standard on iPad is to show CC in PiP, and it would sad if that nicety were omitted.)

Is this happening with both video drivers?

Strange iPhone would work but not iPad. Thanks for pointing that out.

Not being a dev I'm curious if iPadOS is diverging from iOS where it affects development like being two different platforms?

Doubtful. They use the same kernels and toolkits, with only minor variations in the UI layer. Think of it more as the difference between Windows 2000 and XP, and not the difference between NetBSD and OpenBSD.

I'm making no claims as to behavior on iPhone or aTV. I am simply pointing out that the behavior is incorrect on iPad, the device I care about.

The last time I reported a bug (again on iPad) I was given a stream of comments on how it worked fine on aTV and I just had to do xxx.
Maybe so, but irrelevant.
Hence my point.

Closed captions are working for me on both the iPad and iPhone, with both Experimental and Default drivers (under Settings > Playback > Advanced).

Can you click Settings > Support > Submit Diagnostics after attempting to play a channel with closed captions enabled.

Diagnostics submitted. Hopefully they clarify matters. Feel free to email me if they don't.

The issue is that your Home Streaming Quality should be set to Original

You're correct. That does in fact fix the problem. But it still feels like a bug!