Los Angeles OTA - ATSC3 launch

I was happy to discover that Los Angeles recently started broadcasting ATSC/3.0. I applied a firmware update on my HDHomerun Flex 4K and did a new channel scan. These three channels are now showing up, and broadcasting in HEVC. Channels’ “Show Stats" says the content I was watching had a native resolution of 1920x1080.

105.1 KTLA
111.1 KTTV
111.3 KCOP

Working great in Channels DVR. Thought I'd share the good news here because I didn't see any mention of it.

2 Likes

So it's not 4k? And is the video better since it's HVEC and not mpeg2?

PSA: Do not hold your breath waiting for (free) ATSC 3.0 broadcasts in 4K.

I honestly don't care about 4K. I just asked because I was interested but I meant more of the video quality itself when recording a show. Would the video file be better as a HVEC recording

I'm far from an expert on this stuff, but here's what I'm seeing from personal experience and what I've learned from reading other threads. No, the channels are not 4K, but I didn't expect them to be. I knew that such content is rare, and most likely will be paywalled when it's available..

However the ATSC 3.0 channels with HEVC have other benefits. Apparently the ATSC 3.0 signal is less prone to interference in metro areas. I'm seeing that with the 3 channels I'm now able to tune into, the signal sees stabler, without the occasional glitches I'd see on ATSC 1.0, and the PQ is noticeably better.
For specific numbers:
KTLA and KTTV on ATSC 1.0 were broadcasting at 1280 x 720
And now on ATSC 3.0 they are both broadcasting at 1920 x 1080p
So that's feels like the jump from DVD to Blu-Ray quality.
And it also now supports 10-bit color.
No, it's not "UHD" (4K) but it's still a very noticeable jump in visual quality.