NAS Purchase and Setup

I'm new to Channels DVR and using / setting up a NAS and I apologize in advance for my naïve questions! I ordered a "Synology 2 bay NAS DiskStation DS218+ (Diskless)" from Amazon. Do I need to also order hard drives or since is says "Diskless" is everything included?

Yes. You should get drives designed for a NAS also. The WD Red drives are, and each vendor has a NAS series. Just search “NAS hard drive” in Amazon. You probably don’t need the “Pro” versions which are more expensive.

No, WD Red drives are no longer guaranteed to be safe for NAS purposes. They started using inferior SMR technology in the NAS drives, and after they were called out on it, instead of fixing it, they simply launched a "Red Plus" line of NAS drives that was the same as the old, and kept the "Red" line with the inferior technology.

While the difference may not affect you, but if you're interested in the situation:

Other than the WD Red issue, any other line of drives that is marked as "NAS" should be fine.

Thank you for the prompt response, can I start with only one drive and add the second if/when I need the storage?

Interesting, I’ve been using Red drives for as long as they have existed and never had any issues. But cost about the same as others, so you should be able to find similar from another vendor. They all seem to get some bad press like this periodically.

They only started doing this recently, so older drives will not have the SMR platters. Seagate Ironwolf NAS drives are usually the same cost.

If you want higher end drives for better cost, remanufactured HGST Helium drives are pretty good in my experience.