NAS Vs Nvidia Shield as Channels DVR server

I am totally new to this and was curious to which is a more premium choice to have as my server

Looking for best choice to have my server work flawlessly like a regular cable service, or am I asking too much

Trying to get this app wife approved ha

I've been running on a Qnap NAS ( TS-253A ) for about a year with Locast, OTA, HULU and Philo sources. Recorded well over 3,600 shows (mostly series, but some movies and sports).

Has been rock solid with the only issues being either temporary internet connection issue, or with the various sources having issues (but not the fault of Channels or the NAS itself).

I do have a shield, but decided not to run there as I already have Kodi (as front end to Plex also running on same NAS). And that eats up valuable storage space.

1 Like

They both will work, but it depends on what you want out of it. The NAS will be able to do more, but there's a lot of variance in CPU and how that CPU will work with Channels' features like streaming outside of your home. The Shield will work but will be limited on the data side, so you'll have to get a hard drive to attach to it.

I personally am using Unraid as my "NAS" with Channels running in a docker. I like the NAS way over using Channels on my Shield Pro (2019).

A couple of other points.
one of the most valuable features of the DVR is remote functionality for which the NAS (dependent upon the CPU as mentioned) will be far more comprehensive. NAS also require more management as a system but at this cost give you more versatility for extensions in the future whether official or unofficial

In picking a NAS unit does 2 or 4 cores on CPU or RAM help dvr performance?? Like should I look for most possible in my budget?
Reason I am asking is I am looking at purchasing a Synology 220+ or 720+

I mean these units have clock speeds of 2.0 ghz

Any help would be much appreciated