Newbie and confused

I am considering Channels. I am a recent cord cutter. I dropped all Spectrum cable stations and just have internet. My TV's are TCL Roku TV's. I used to use TIVO DVR now I am subscribed to YTTV and a few other streaming services. The DVR function on YTTV sucks in my opinion, and I saw Channels have a lot of good things said about it.

I am confused if it will work with my setup? I am a network tech by trade and my network setup is good, I also use Synology NAS devices. I am rural and don't have access to OTA channels but use my YTTV for the locals. Will channels be worth the effort for me and if so what do I need? I've looked over what I could find, FAQs etc. and I'm still confused as it appears to me that I still have to have a cable TV package to get the full benefits of the DVR I am wanting?

Please advise.

Few answers here:

1. You will need a different client device. Roku's are not officially supported as a channels client, and the beta you may find is ancient, and not advisable. Good, inexpensive options would be the Amazon Fire Stick 4K, Chromecast with Google TV, or several other options. If you've been looking to switch anyway, the Apple TV is the "flagship" device for channels, so that's the best option, if feasible.

2. Depending on your Synology NAS model, you can likely just use it, with little fuss. Best post your model to confirm, though, as transcoding is a big enabler, and differs between models.

3. You can use TV Everywhere, as a source, from YTTV. Channels works "best" with HDHomeRun Cable and/or OTA devices, but TVE is a route many use, despite its beta status. Locals should also work, but you can try this on your NAS (assumingly) before looking at client changes.

In short - you should be ok to proceed, as long as you have a different client platform to try. If you have an iPhone or Android phone, you could even "try" everything using that, prior to changing TV clients, as a test.

1 Like