Performance of Channels DVR on Apple TV versus Amazon 4k Firesticks?

I've been using Channels DVR for over 1 1/2 years now and love it. But I am going to start playing around with next generation TV (ATSC 3.0) in the next few weeks when it goes live in my TV market.

I've upgraded one of my tuners to the new HDHomeRun FLEX QUATRO 4k tuners. So my question is (as it relates to performance of ATSC3 broadcast channels), does Channels DVR do a better job on Apple TV "versus" an Amazon 4k firestick?

I would appreciate any insight into this question?

It's not so much the performance of Channels per se, but rather the overall performance. Amazon's devices are fine for basic streaming streaming needs. But their meager storage is a huge detraction, especially if you are using Channels, as your pause buffer for live TV will suffer. (And the more additional apps you install, the smaller your pause buffer becomes.)

If you want the best experience with Channels, then your first choice should be the Apple TV. Overall, the entire device is much mire pleasant to use, and if it is not quantifiably faster, it certainly feels that way. In addition, it is the primary target of Channels, meaning you will get features first before Android devices.

If you are heavily invested in Amazon/Alexa, then maybe the Fire TV devices are the best. But if you can afford the cost of the Apple TV—and don't like your TV constantly shoving ads down your throat—then I saw go for the Apple device; you'll be glad you did.

If you want or need HLG support then the Fire devices fully support it Apple TV's do not.

1 Like

then I say go for the Apple device; you'll be glad you did.

Triple the recommendation for Apple TV 4K:
1: Top Shelf > to see what's recently recorded, what's "On Now"
2. Apple TV App > yes the ATV APP - it does "TV Tracking" across most streaming apps (except Netflix)
3. Siri Remote: best one device, one remote you can get (I know because I have over 30 remotes over the years)