Streaming from a second home?

I'm new to Channels and need some help to think through my future setup.

I have roots in the Midwest, root for the local teams there (college, nfl, nba, ...) and have in-laws there. I really want the local broadcasts from my home (much better local broadcasters than the national ones) rather than the national ones and am thinking that Channels could be part of the solution.

So I live in the PNW. How do I set up Channels and servers so I can watch my local broadcasts here AND OTA or cable sports from my former Midwest base? When it comes to ABC/CBS/... I don't care whether I get that from here or there. PBS was better back in the midwest but I am willing to compromise. Obviously the weather reports are better done locally. I am totally happy doing any installs in my home and my in-laws, but long-term, remember that any set up in my in-laws' home is...well, it's at their home! I'll just leave it at that!

I'd love your thoughts.

(Also, if there is a better place to ask this question, please tell me and I'll see if I can move it.)

Absolutely feasible. What you need is:

Inlaws location:

• PC/NAS to run 1 instance of Channels DVR
  • Service that gives you your local channels via TVR -or-
  • Antenna w/ HDHomerun tuner

You Location:

• Same as above.

You'll need to setup Tailscale on both Servers so that you can connect them, then use the Custom Channels on your local server to map the channels you want over from the in-laws server (you can bring over specific channels, a single "source" [ie HDHomerun Tuner or TVE Source] or all of the channels).

I've done it myself and as long as you have reliable internet service, you should be fine. You'll have to learn how to use the text input for custom channels if you want to bring in specific channels but not all. There's plenty of examples on the threads, though they aren't always the easiest to find and there's some nuances to the coding that even I am still ignorant of.

1 Like