Stumped(!) DVR Server on Nvidia Shield Setup(?)

Hello,

We had trouble setting up the DVR Server a few months back, & set it aside b/c a family member had some health problems. So recently we tried again w/ slightly different hardware.
But we still got stuck, trying to "create a path" during the setup.

{Disclaimer: I understand the basics when it comes to A/V, but in regards to Computers I'm a complete novice compared to most of the members of this forum.} :slight_smile:

We tried the example "/Volumes/USB/DVR" but that didn't work (needless to say).
I tried googling & searching this forum but I couldn't find a Setup Guide or Step_by_Step instructions; so here I am. (The following is our current setup):

• Cox (Cable) TV (+ ISP)
  • Netgear: AC1900 (C6300BD)
  • HDHomeRun: Prime
  • Shield: 16gb (2015)
  • WD: MyBook(4TB) {WDBBGB0040HBK}
  • AppleTV: 4K(32gb)
  • Channels_Plus subscription: Active

All we're trying to do is tryout Channels DVR (Server) w/ TVE login (to see if it is as great as everyone says), before we start saving up for a NAS (considering that seems to be the ideal setup).

Would appreciate any advice or tips.

Thanx 4 reading my post, (I hope I gave some of U a laugh) from this Newb. :wink:

Is the MyBook connected via USB to the SHIELD? Was it formatted as external storage or adopted storage?

If you click /storage on the left on the web UI directory picker, what options are shown on the right?

1 Like

The MyBook is connected via USB.

I'm not certain if it formatted it, but I avoided adopted/internal storage. (in the Shield settings it has the MyBook listed under "Removable Storage")

When I click on "/storage" (@ http://dvr-shield.local:8089/admin/settings ) it shows 2 folders:
16D5-168D
emulated/0

hope that helps.

Okay great. Click the first one (which looks like XXXX-XXXX), then click + and enter DVR. The path should now say:

/storage/16D5-168D/NVIDIA_SHIELD/DVR

If it does, hit Save and you should be able to continue to the next step.