Synology 218+ NAS with Channels DVR

This is not a Channels DVR question. But I was hoping since so many users on here use Synology for the NAS devices that someone (perhaps) could lead me in the right direction. I am a newbie with Channels DVR and just purchased a new Synology 218+ NAS to use along with Channels.

Here's my question. When I set up the NAS last weekend, I only had one HDD. But I've decided with the Cyber Monday sales that I want to go ahead and buy a 2nd HDD. I want to set up a Raid 1 so I've got redundancy in the drives. I assume/hope this is an easy task even though I've already got one HDD up and running with everything already installed. However, can someone refer me to a video link? I've noticed some videos on the Synology site, but they appear to be for more complex scenarios. Again, I simply want to expand my existing/single 4TB HDD. I want to add a 2nd 4TB HDD for the second bay in the Synology 218+ and have it set to Raid 1.

My only fear is losing my existing configuration. As a newbie with no help whatsoever, it took me a while to successfully get through everything last weekend; and I don't want to risk doing anything that will erase my current disk or introduce any problems. It's simply not worth it, given the time I've already spent on this.

As the days go by, I am learning more about these NAS devices, but it is a process for someone with no prior experience. Thanks for any suggestions/guidance on my question.

1 Like

You “should” be fine doing exactly what you describe, without any data loss. Check out https://www.synology.com/en-global/knowledgebase/DSM/help/DSM/StorageManager/storage_pool_change_raid_type as it describes exactly how to make this change. There is a note at the bottom of the page that says any data on the drive you are adding will be lost, but it sounds like any existing data should be fine.