USB Boot in Loop

i am very new at this so I apologize for my lack of knowledge.
I have used the Raspberry Pi Imager on several drives. WD My Passport, Samsung 860 SSD, Buffalo Mini Station etc. With each, I have installed (ChannelsDVRServer_PI4.img.gz) and tried to boot the Raspberry Pi 4 which has 4gb ram but the same thing happens. A constant loop.
after watching the cycle on the lights I attached the monitor and this attached photo is what i see in a loop scrolling every 25 sec.

Screen Shot 2021-07-10 at 7.37.00 PM

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

You did the first step by editing the boot loader on an SD card on the pi to enable USB boot, right?

I did "Misc utility Images / Bootloader / USB Boot" in the Raspberry Pi Imager I didn't have (Choose OS > Misc utility images > Pi 4 EEPROM boot recovery) and got rapid flashing green light after loading>
SO is that the issue?

MSD Error indicates mass storage USB is not working with your drives for some reason.

Are you trying the blue or black USB ports? Connected directly or via hub?

How is your Pi powered?

Pi is powered with Cana Kit power supply 5.1V 3.5A

Using the Blue USB plugs direct connect for hard HDD or SSD> I've tried both

this is the cable I am using for HDD.

Have you found a solution for this? I'm having the exact same problem with my WD My Passport 2 TB. I used the Raspberry Pi Imager v1.6.2 to write the ChannelsDVRServer_PI4.img.gz file to the 2 TB USB 3 external hard disk.
Should the 2 TB disk be partitioned and formatted? What file system?

1 Like

I have had poor results using WD My Passport or My Book lines. The EasyStore drives work without issue, though.

Thanks. I also tried to use a WD easystore 5 TB USB 3 with the same results.

1 Like

Is your screen exactly the same? It says "xHC-CMD err: 6 type: 1" also? And "Apr 20 2021" at the top?