What Will Channels Become After TVE?

I'm new to Channels but I am learning quickly and really enjoying the open architecture, open development, and TVE.

Too bad because like others I suspect the TVE party will not last long. I was musing what would happen to Channels after that. Is there any chance that Channels might strike deals with media sources and be able to continue to cater to users who prefer an open environment over the turn-key but restricted apps? Imagine Channels with Hulu- or Fubo-like channel packages as a replacement for TVE. Would any media provider allow their streams to be bundled with an open product like Channels?

3 Likes

this

and

and

1 Like

Unfortunately many of us cannot receive anything OTA, I'm one of them.

2 Likes

For you

This:

and

3 Likes

I'm hoping my HDHR Prime, free cable cards and Xfinity will still work.
That's the only source I had when I started using Channels DVR about 5 years ago.

2 Likes

Same here I only use Channels DVR to record Prime Shows mainly and Some old shows with 2 Cable Cards and OTA tuners.. I do not like their Personal Media and lack of Profiles... As I mostly use EMBY for that.... So if my Prime tuners die, I will say goodbye to home grown DVRs.

2 Likes

When I first went to Channels it was to replace my aging TIVO and Spectrums dwindling support for cable cards. I cut the cord and used a "family" streaming login to get all my sources by TVE.

Then I lost PBS and I can't get them OTA. Then I lost the NBC-Universal channels so I had to get a subscription to YTTV to be able to watch those. Now we lost even more networks this past week, making me go to the YTTV app even more. There are only a few reasons I am still sticking with Channels, but it is getting harder to keep the wife happy with the constant app swapping now needed.