DVR Recording Filename

Hi,

I just started with Channels DVR. Is there a way to customize the format of the filename of the recording? I want to add a "-" between the name, season/episode, title, and date.

Thanks

1 Like

There is not a way to change this. Can you elaborate more on why you want this?

I have been using SageTV for about 10 years as my primary DVR system. With the announcement that CableCards do not have to be supported, I started looking into switching to OTA HDHomeRun. But the reception is not that great. The good news is that Locast is available in my area. But there was not a way to record from Locast until I found you. (I have tried it and it works great.)

I have used PlayOn to record from streaming services. I tell SageTV to use the PlayOn output directory as an import directory. That way SageTV can also see/manage all of the PlayOn recordings.

My initial thought was to do the same with Channels DVR. I told SageTV that the Channels DVR output directory was an import directory. It did find the files, but was not able to identify them as TV shows since they were not in the correct format. SageTV expects:
[show name] - [S??E??] - [episode name].mp4
as the format. That is why I was looking to see if the output filename could be changed.

In addition to recording, I also use SageTV to maintain my TV, Movie, Video, Music and Photo libraries. It functions very similar to PLEX in that way just that it has been around a lot longer than PLEX.

Thoughts?
John

Thanks for the context!

I'm not opposed to changing our file names to more closely match standards used by other software. We have a much better understanding of what these standards are now (compared to when the dvr was first created), since we've been working on things like movie and tv imports recently.

I'm curious though if there's any way to get SageTV to recognize the files as they exist now? Maybe other sagetv users like @Kryptonyte or @Edwin_Perez have an idea