Expected transcoding performance?

Hi -

given this CPU:

4 cores / Intel® Core™ i7-3615QM CPU @ 2.30GHz

what would you guys expect for transcoding performance? i see that ffmpeg is called with -c:v h264_videotoolbox, which is guess is why the Settings page says “hardware” transcoder. however i find that the machine can only transcode 1080p/30 to 360p in real time. that seems slow. could this have to do with the fact that the machine is running 10.9.5?

thanks

rob

edit: seems like h264_videotoolbox might be using the GPU? the machine is a mac mini so the graphics card is the integrated Intel HD 4000. could it actually be slower than pure software on this cpu?

There’s definitely something wrong there. -c:v libx264 would easily do 720p, if not 1080i/p, using the veryfast preset at crf=21. I have no experience with h264_videotoolbox.

Performance should be a lot better than that. It is usually 2-3x faster compared to libx264.

Do you have anything plugged into the hdmi port?

yes, the machine is my (hopefully soon to be legacy) EyeTV DVR machine, and it is plugged into one of the HDMI inputs on my samsung TV. does this mean all the GPU resources are tied up with that? it’s still useful to have a computer plugged into the TV so long-term i’d like to keep it connected.

would it be possible to add the option to use libx264 even though a hardware transcoder is available?

rob

What generation Mac mini? Do you see any errors in the log?

On some macs the hardware encoder doesn’t kick in if nothing is plugged into hdmi, but I don’t think that matters on the mini.

If you have an active VNC connection, that could be using up the hardware encoder too.

it is a “late 2012” mac mini server. screen sharing is running, though there was no active connection at the time.

on replaying one particular recording i saw a couple of these errors:

h264_videotoolbox @ 0x7fe3a3004e00] Error setting realtime property: -1290