Folders for DVR

So I'm a newbie. Can you guys answer a few DVR Folder questions I can't seem to dig up here:
I set up a record folder on my external hard drive. On my setup I'm using HDHOMERUN, Pluto and Stirr and ATT UVERSE.

1. Do I need to set up TV and Movie Folders for Channels DVR RECORDINGS or will they automatically be separated to separate TV and movie folders?

2. I'm using PLEX and sometime KODI. Will PLEX and KODI recognize these DVR recorded files if I have them scan this folder? Ideally I'd like PLEX and KODI automatically scan so I don't have to mess with them once they're set to scan.

3. When I record something on Pluto or Stirr is the file name like a movie or are all recordings considered TV shows? To be clearer does Channels know if it's a movie or a TV show when recorded?

4. I'm assuming Channels is smart enough to know that OTA HDHOMERUN and UVERSE recordings differentiate from movies and TV shows?

5. Are recordings put in separate folders? The reason I ask is I occasionally still use KODI for playbacks (don't @ me it's still the most solid media player for streaming local stuff) and I have KODI set to "Each movie is in a separate folder". Plex is not set up that way because you can't but it has no problem identifying all my thousands of movies in folders.

6. I tried to have Channels scan my old media libraries for movies and TV show episodes but it didn't do very well. Is that something that's still being worked on. Ideally I'd like to just use Channels to play everything on my external (which when talking about movies is in the hundreds. Lots of classic films)

TV and Movies folders will be created automatically, along with other directories specific to Channels DVR such as Database backups.

Then you can point other software at those directories

1 Like

Channels will create the folders it needs.