GUI app to make it easy to schedule manual recordings

mjitkop/Channels-DVR-Manual-Recording (github.com)

Hopefully I have made it so user-friendly that no explanations are needed to use it.

You may use the Python file as long as you have Python installed on your system and possibly extra modules too. I'm not exactly sure which modules come pre-installed with the initial Python installation, which may depend on the version and the platform you install it on.
I've been working on and off on this for quite a while and I didn't keep track whether I had to install additional modules.

I have also generated a Windows EXE file that can be used as a standalone application without the need to have Python installed.

This is my first time creating a GUI so be kind with me. :grin: It's not the prettiest UI but it seems to be working. This is what it looks like:

All the input fields on the screen can be modified manually. See below for an example where I changed the name of the program, the name of the episode, as well as the image URL.

One example of use to manually start a recording with a 2-minute delay. This may be useful with 4K events, if you know what I mean. :wink:

In the DVR schedule:

After the recording is over, you can find it in the DVR/TV directory as a TV show:

You can see that the name of the program was used to create a directory, and the file name is a concatenation of the name of the program + name of the episode.

Give it a try if you have a need for it and let me know if you have any issues with it or if you have any suggestions to improve it. :slight_smile:

2 Likes

I'm getting a 404 on the github link :frowning_face:

Sorry, I accidentally created the repository as private instead of public.
I'm not very familiar with GitHub and I'm trying to figure out now how to make it public.

2 Likes

I have changed it to public. Please try again and let me know. :slight_smile:

Link works now. Thanks.

1 Like