How do i install Channels DVR Server on a NEW DS920+

I am new to channels and I just bought a Synology DS920+ with (4) x 8TB drives
I am pretty clear on standard setup for my NAS but now I need to know how to install Channels DVR on it and migrate my current data to the NAS.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
Steve

1 Like

To know which steps you need help with, perhaps you can indentify which ones from the documentation you're having trouble with?

There's a package for Synology's DSM, and instructions for that on the website:

As for moving your data, there a document about that, too:

1 Like

I guess the first question is will channels run on DSM 7.1?
I have never had a NAS before so this is a little intimidating.
Then it looks like all I have to do is upload the package into my NAS.

Is that all there is to the install?
Does it run automatically?
I guess I would like to know what to expect.
So for being so anal but as a noob I don’t want to mess it up.
Thank you for the help!

1 Like

Oh and one more thing - am I still executing and running on my laptop or is the NAS running and controlling the channels software?
This is all new to me, thanks for your patience.

In answer to your first question, It works great on DSM 7.1. I am using it on DSM 7.1-42661 Update 4 without issue.

2 Likes

If you install it on your NAS and run it from there, then that is where it will be. If you migrate your settings and data over, there is no more need for the PC to run it.

1 Like

Great,
That is what I thought happens and what I am looking for.
So is it like this:

1. Download your file
  2. Upload the package into my NAS
  3. Grant permission for my local content.
    4: migrate using the instruction you pointed me to in your first response.
    Is it that easy?
    Steve
1 Like

Best is to leave your current Channels DVR running on your laptop while you get used to it on the new NAS.