iPad sidebar

I just installed 6.0, and it was a bit of a shock. IMO, moving the navigation from the bottom to a sidebar is inconvenient and requires double the number of taps to get where I want to go.

Is there some way to either a) bring back the bottom bar, or b) pin the sidebar open? I looked around in the settings but didn’t see anything that looked like this.

I’ve been using Channels for literally 7 years (!), and this is the first time there’s been a design change I strongly dislike, so I guess I’m doing ok… :slight_smile: but I’m hoping you might be able to come up with some sort of compromise to improve usability.

Thanks!

No, there’s no way to bring back the bottom tab bar. This change was made for multiple reasons including:

1. iPad and iPhone could not participate in customized navigation
  2. Without customized navigation, these devices could not participate in Personal Sections
  3. The bottom tab bar is gone in iPadOS 18 anyways, as Apple has moved it to a top tab bar,

Software changes over time. We try to not make a lot of changes, because we feel that stability in how software works is important, especially for things like watching movies and tv, especially in the case of other family members using it.

But despite that, software does change over time. We feel that the reasons for this change outweigh the alternative, hence why we changed it.

Ok, I’m certainly not saying you should never change things! Perhaps it would be more useful if I detailed how I use Channels, and why it’s less convenient now, and you can take that as feedback to consider when you’re thinking about future changes.

In the client apps (Apple TV, iPad, iPhone), I almost exclusively do two things: