IT guys needs suggestions

Although I’m in IT, I’m new to this cable cutting thing (6 days now). I have a HDHomeRun Connect 4K Quatro, a Synology DS418 which was advertised as being able to hardware transcode MPEG2-TS (it can’t) running Plex. After weeks of Synology tech support I bought a Nvidia Shield TV Pro to do the Transcoding and it actually does. It also handles the TV Everywhere where my Synology can’t. I am using the Shield as my Channels server and Client for the main TV and the Synology as storage. While trying to figure out something cheaper than another Shield for the other two TV Clients and getting so confused I broke down and ordered a second Shield. (still looking for something for the last TV)
My Questions:

1. When I go to watch a recorded show in Channels it can take a minute or two for it to begin streaming. Is this normal? Would moving storage off the Synology to a local external HD improve performance?
  2. Is it better to leave the main TV as just a Channels Client and move the Channels Server/Client to the second Shield Pro on a lesser used TV or leave it on the main TV?
  3. When the Shield Pro gets unplugged I have to reenter the IP Address of the Channels Server even though it has not changed. Is this normal?
  4. I know this is a loaded question as I have spent hours on the forum what is a good Certified Android TV box that has an ethernet port?
  1. if you attach a drive local to the Shield acting as the DVR suggest you go with a USB3 attached SATA SSD to get up to 500MB/s read / write versus about 120MB/s on spinning disk, I can't record ATSC 3.0, but if you are - you may want the fastest disk possible
  2. I don't know of any reason to move it - I think I have seen where @tmm1 suggested the Shield Pro is probably the best combo client / DVR platform that is available - so that's good for your setup