Raspberry Pi performance

I am a few weeks in to testing channels, I am running it in parallel to my xfinity cable box network. I have an HP laptop with an A8 Processor and 8GB of Ram running the Channels DVR.
Using TVE to bring in Xfinity channels.
Last night while watching a live broadcast, I experienced several episodes of buffering. I read some old posts that this could be for various reasons including Hard Drive performance.
So I am wondering,since I have no experience with Raspberry pi, if replaceing the DVR with the above settings with a Raspberry pi a new SSD drive would help the buffering situation. I know a definitve yes or no will not be forthcoming, so I am looking for opinions of power users here with experience in this area,
In addition is a Raspberry Pi 4 required to address the issues I have mentioned? The reason I ask is that my brother has a Raspberry Pi 3 that he is willing to give me. I am also ok purchasing a new Raspberry Pi 4 if needed.
With all that said I am very impressed with the performance of the Channels DVR given what I am running it on.

Only the Pi 4 is viable for Channels. Otherwise, the USB is too crippled to take the IO load.

Aside from slower comskip (due to lack of CPU horsepower), if you don't watch outside the home, it's a damned fine setup. I only migrated to a Mac Mini as my use case changed.

1 Like

Thanks @hancox
What version of Mac Mini did you get? I just gave an old one to my brother, I think it was an i3 processor. I replaced it with a minisforum mini computer with a Ryzen 7 processor. That one is very fast and would make a great DVR but it is my main desktop now so I don't want to use that, plus it's nowhere near the router and runs on WiFi. I will strongly consider a Raspberry Pi. Thanks again

@pmaior, I've upgraded my Pi setup to an SSD over the summer. That did resolve my HDD performance issues(IIRC that there were some Channels Software changes to mitigate this).