Running DVR as non-admin user on Synology DSM

Hi, there! I’m running the Channels DVR server on my Synology DS916+ via the Package Center, so the process runs under my admin user, which seems less safe considering it has a web server that’s exposed to the internet.

I’m wondering if anyone knows if/how it’s possible to run the DVR under a user account that’s more locked down (i.e., can’t access my data) and whether it’s really necessary.

So far, it seems like the only way would be to set up a trigger task that runs as a specific user on startup, but for that I would need to know the command line that runs the server. (Anyone know what that is?)

Thanks!

Do you know of other packages that use non-admin user?

Do they generally create a user?

I’m new to Synology, myself, so I don’t have an authoritative answer. A first round of Googling didn’t turn up anything so far.

I don’t see a way to run packages from Package Center if I log in as a non-admin user, but it looks like there’s a separate http user group (available by default) for running web servers for hosting websites. Those are exposed more as services in DSM rather than normal apps, though.

I have, however, seen discussions where other users run their processes as role accounts. It just seems like this may not be a common enough use case for DSM to expose in its UI.

Okay I can do some research too and see what the DSM developer docs say about it.

According to this discussion on the Synology forum, the third-party package Subsonic creates a user during installation that can be assigned permissions in DSM. (The relevant reply is towards the middle.)

https://forum.synology.com/enu/viewtopic.php?f=190&t=99339&p=471395&hilit=Run+package+as+user#p471395

I found some more examples of how to do this in the documentation.

I agree this is worth having and plan to update the SPK so a separate user is used by default. Should have some time early next week.

Very cool. Thanks for looking into this!