Weird freezing situation w/ Channels Apple TV app

Hi,

I am getting a weird situation that has occurred recently with Channels on my Apple TV; it might be something that has an obvious solution that may be caused by my admitted, limited ability to grasp the tech/logic around how Channels works or should be properly set up, but all things were working perfectly fine til a couple of weeks ago or so.

Anyway, when I go to a channel in Channels, it take a few seconds to load up, which is fine (it has always done this), but I have been noticing lately that, if I switch around to other channels (mainly via On Now or the guide; I don't use the channel surfing feature that much to see if it does it there too), it seems to take just a bit longer to load up (like ever so slightly).

Eventually, it gets to a point where I go to a channel (any channel, antenna or my TVE ones - I have a Philo subscription if that matters any), I get a black screen with the progress bar which shows it is spinning, waiting to load and then it just stays like that til I exit out of the app. I then call up the app again and the app freezes and self exits. Then calling up the app the third time, I get the "Preparing your TV" message and everything goes back to normal, where normal means that it just starts the cycle again.

It happens when I move from channel to channel in the methods described above, but I also notice it when I am on a channel for a long time (i.e. greater than 5 or 10 mins) and want to move to another channel.

Like I said, it hasn't happened before and, oddly enough, only seems to happen on the Apple TV app(s); when I use my iPad, the Channels app seems to work perfectly fine.

Any ideas what I am obviously doing wrong? I am sure it is something I am missing...

Supplemental info:
Channels app v. 1.12.0438 (just updated today, but I was on the 1.10 build prior)
Apple TV 4k from before the new remote days, tvOS 15.2. Apple TV is connected via ethernet (no wifi)