Anyone else testing Channels on tvOS 17 beta?

I’m testing tvOS 17 beta and noticed an issue with Channels anytime I open it for the first time and try to play any kind of video, it plays without sound for approximately 5 seconds then stops. I then need to tap play several times to get the video to play again and eventually the sound starts to play. I have 7 Apple TV’s and this issue seems to be relegated to the one using a HomePod stereo pair. Has anyone else experienced similar issues?

2 Likes

I've been using tvOS 17 and have not noticed any issues so far. But I'm not using HomePods.

I've got tvOS 17 public beta on the AppleTV in my kitchen, whose audio defaults to a HomePod Mini, and I'm not experienced that issue. Audio is playing with normal playback, no stops or having to tap play, it just works normally. I am using the latest TestFlight client, with Experimental audio driver selected.

I do experience PIP issues (the audio mutes) but I also know, this comes with the beta territory. This software is a moving target that Apple may break and fix, and break and fix again, all before the final public release.

Thanks for the info. By the way, are you also running the latest HomePod beta as I’m wondering if this may be part of the issue?

1 Like

No, my HomePod Mini is on 16.6

I started hitting this exact issue after installing tvOS 17. Stereo pair HomePod mini. Experimental audio driver.

For what it’s worth I am on tvOS 17 on the AppleTV in my kitchen and I have a single HomePod mini connected there, and I am not experiencing this issue.

I’m pretty certain this issue is not related to Apple TV’s running tvOS 17 but rather HomePods running tvOS 17. I have 7 Apple TV’s and all of them exhibit this issue when paired to either a single HomePod or a stereo pair. I’ve reverted to the default audio driver which is a bit more reliable but still has major issues.