Atsc 3.0 resolution

I am new to atsc 3.0. I know there are several stations here in the Tampa FL but is anything being broadcast in 4k yet

To my knowledge, no.

And there won’t be for years. None of the networks even supply a 4K feed, not even 1080p. The bandwidth requirements, not to mention the complete rebuilding of the plant at each station to pass the a 4K feed is astronomically expensive. All feeds are 1080i or 720p. The lighthouse broadcaster in my city takes these feeds by IP from each of the participating station and “upscales” them to 1080p. So even that is not true 1080p, just a facsimile. The facility I work at was built as 720p in 1999 and we are slowly converting our entire plant from HD-SDI to IP.

2 Likes

So then there is no advantaged to going to 3.0 for a long time

2 Likes

Reception is much better.

2 Likes

No. 1080p content is roughly the same size/bandwidth of h.264/AVC as h.265/HEVC. It is only when you move to 4K that you see a benefit.

The real gain is for Dolby. They negotiated their new (and widely unsupported) audio codec AC4 as the default for ATSC3.

1 Like

Big advantage is getting a stable signal. 3.0 is much more forgiving of multipath and other issues that plague 1.0. So if you are in an area with a good but unstable 1.0 signal you would most likely not have an issue with 3.0. I live in the city surrounded by high rise buildings, lots of reflections and multiplath. I lose the 1.0 signals every morning when the sun hits the glass high rise across from me and it reflects onto my antenna and overwhelms the broadcast signal. Similar to a sun outage, but the 3.0 signal is rock solid at 100% all the time.

3 Likes

Yea, I forgot to mention that AC4 is a pain. I only get stereo audio from the 3.0 stations on my ATV 4K. Seems that apple is not on board yet being able to properly decode all 6 channels of sound.