DVR on Mac Mini (2012) tips wanted

My Pi dedicated image server has hung a few times and seems slow at Comskip so while the Pi distro has been convenient and useful I am planning to move the server to an unused Mac Mini 2012 which I have and repurpose the Pi.

The Mac Mini (A1347) has an i5 processor, 4GB memory and 500GB drive and I only plan to access recordings over my local network. (I plan to have the recordings on an external 1TB USB drive formatted as exFat.) It has Mojave right now and I know it won't run Big Sur.

My challenge is that I have very little background in MacOS (or Ubuntu), so this will be a learning experience.

Are there any tips which can be shared about setting up the Mac Mini to run 24x7?

After the initial setup I hope to be able to run it "headless" and remote in with a Win 10 PC on the same local gigabit network - so I could use some tips on how to do that too.

1. Turn off sleep
  2. Turn on auto login for your user
  3. Turn on screen sharing in the Sharing pane of System Preferences. You can use VNC software to remotely connect to the Mac.
4 Likes

I have the same computer. Not sure if it was the OS or trying to run VMs on the same machine, but I was getting really choppy recordings. I upgraded the Mini to an SSD and 16GB of RAM and now it runs great. I don't think Mojave is friendly to older machines.

I ran the Channels DVR server on a 2012 Mac Mini for over a year before switching to a NUC. I found that after 1-2 weeks of uptime the external harddrive would randomly disconnect for no good reason and I would have to reboot the computer to get it back. So I added a scheduled task to automatically reboot the mini once a week at a time I knew it would be idle. After that, it was pretty darned rock-solid.