How to implement Apple TV home/tv button. Sofabaton vs channel master

Hello folks,

I have been using channels dvr for a couple of months now and love it.

I have paired a harmony 650 remote with my home theater system, and make use of the HDMI compliment controls to be able to send additional commands to the Apple TV , such as PIP toggle and quick access to recordings and guide etc.

The only issue I run into is occasionally , due to apples stupid decision not to expose the Siri remote ( home button- recently renamed the Tv button) as a programmable IR button. Occasionally if I need to get to the app switcher I have to pull out my iPhone, iPad Orr Siri remote which sits in a drawer and double press the Siri remote Tv button to get the app switcher, or long press the same button to get the right side “control center” menu.

Several of you have mentioned the sofabaton which seems to have both IR and Bluetooth.

1: can the sofabaton mimic the Apple TV remote (home/tv) button, presumably through Bluetooth and do long presses to get the side bar and double click to get the app switcher.
Once in a while I need t force close channels when it randomly gets wonked. A confirmation on the sofabaton would help.

2: I’m not planning on going the harmony hub direction due to them discontinuing their product line.

Thank you to all the cord cutters and escpecially the channels dvr developers

1 Like

Better is the the Channel Master remote for $25.00 has the Home button as IR that you can use to program your harmony 650. I have the Harmony companion with the hub and that has the home button and Bluetooth. I also own a Channel Master remote and it all works.

https://smile.amazon.com/Channel-Master-Simple-CM-7000XRC-Compatible/dp/B08SZ5KZQ4/ref=sr_1_2?dchild=1&keywords=channel+master+remote&qid=1620041745&sr=8-2

1 Like